Skip to main content

Our Governance


The Team that Keeps Things Running

Steering Committee

The governance of the EACCR 2 constitutes a steering committee (SC) as the committee that provides oversight, policy advisory  to the implementation comitttee.  The steering committee comprises of legal heads of the five Node hosting institutions. Dr. Sam Okware is the chairman of the steering committee. Prof Pontiano Kaleebu –The Overall Project Coordinator is the secretary of the Steering Committee.  The Steering Committee through the secretary of the committee seeks guidance from EDCTP Africa on pertinent issues concerning the project. The steering committee is comprised of the following members.

Principal Investigator & Overall Coordinator
Ministry of Health-Uganda(Member)
NIMR- Tanzania (Member)
Deputy Project Cordinator - Member
KEMRI Wellcome Trust
Karolinska Institute/ WP5 lead
Legal representative of KCMC
Project Implementation Committee

The project Implementation committee is responsible for the day today running of the EACCR2 activities at the 5 Nodes and the 5 Work packages listed below. Every Node has Terms of Reference (TORS) to guide their operations. The PIC meets every quarter to assess progress and challenges faced in implanting the activities.

Principal Investigator & Overall Coordinator
HIV Work Package Coordinator/ Co-Principal Investigator & WP7 lead
Deputy Project Cordinator - Member
NID Work Package Coordinator
Malaria Work Package Coordinator
TB Work Package Coordinator
Training Work Package Coordinator